Lies of Locke Lamora Read-A-Long Part 1

Hi All-

I’m listening to The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch via audio for the LoLL RAL coordinated by Little Red Reviewer and MyAwful Reviews. I’ve got audio, so forgive any missed-spellings.

LittleRedReviewer has posed the first batch of questions:

1. If this is your first time reading The Lies of Locke Lamora, what do you think of it so far?  If this is a re-read for you, how does the book stand up to rereading?

It’s interesting and engaging. I’d be reading this without the encouragement of the RAL. I like Lynch’s sense of irony and humor, such as (something like) Only the things that Jean eats are poisonous, or Dona Salvarra’s comment upon seeing the wolf-shark spectacle:  “Taken in so fast by such a simple trick”; or the fact that Adult Locke is wearing the same outfit in the Don Salvarra Game posing as Lucas Whitewhatever as the Valdani man from whom he stole the white iron coin that got him in so much trouble referred to in Question 4 below.

2. At last count, I found three time lines:  Locke as as a 20-something adult, Locke meeting Father Chains for the first time, and Locke as a younger child in Shades Hill. How are you doing with the Flashback within a flashback style of introducing characters and the world?

It’s fun, but more than that, it’s well-executed. I’m able to follow what’s going on with no problem. I’m listening to the audio, and the reader is FAB, FAB, FAB! All the voices are distinct from one another, and that goes for “very young Locke”, “young Locke” and “early adult Locke”. As far as story-building goes, this flashback within a flashback method keeps me interested and curious how all these story-lines meld into eachother later in the book.

3. Speaking of the world, what do you think of Camorr and Lynch’s world building?

I love the emberglass, the river-city, and the barges. I love the Salvarra’s barge, with the orchard. I appreciate the economic disparity of the city, and the unique “Italic-mimic” words, like “garrista”

4. Father Chains and the death offering. . .  quite the code of honor for thieves, isn’t it? What kind of person do you think Chains is going to mold Locke into?

Boy talk about physical manifestation of Karma. pt2– dunno, something unique and very very special, single-purpose, obviously. Why is he called Chains?

5. It’s been a while since I read this, and I’d forgotten how much of the beginning of the book is pure set up, for the characters, the plot, and the world. Generally speaking, do you prefer  set up and world building done this way, or do you prefer to be thrown into the deep end with what’s happening?

Usually I prefer more world-building at the beginning. I get frustrated if the “jump off the deep end” goes on for too long.

6. If you’ve already started attempting to pick the pockets of your family members (or even thought about it!) raise your hand.

Here’s what I have to say about that:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HazQlWgdzg

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Lies of Locke Lamora Read-A-Long Part 1

  1. I’ve been listening to the audio book too. I can’t believe how great the reader is! I love Lynch’s sense of humor and timing as well, but I can’t help but think that the reader makes it even better.

    http://hugoenduranceproject.blogspot.com/2012/03/lies-of-locke-lamora-read-along-week-1.html

    -Jeremy

  2. Pingback: Lies of Locke Lamora read along, part ONE « the Little Red Reviewer

  3. I have GOT to get the audio of this. I need something to get me through those stupid three hour car rides!

    the joy of having read this over and over again is that everytime i read it, i pick up something new. And the joy of doing a read along is that other people (like you!!!) pick up on stuff that because I blow right through the prose that I never picked up – Like that Locke’s Lukas outfit is the same as the guy he stole the white iron from. . . which originally got the story started. Damn, I never even saw that!!!

    A friend of mine speaks nearly fluid Italian, and when we’re hanging out she’s always throwing a word or two of Italian. it keeps her in practice and makes me laugh. . . but she always gives me weird looks when i throw in not-quite-Italian words that I learned from reading Lynch. It’s a little like the Mandarin (?) swearing in Firefly.

  4. Well, here I am, supposedly taking my time on this reread and I didn’t pick up on the outfit being the same! There’s just so much going on in here.
    I thought Chains got his name because he had ‘supposedly’ chained himself to the temple? Are you thinking there’s a different reason for his name (I daresay I should know having already read this but if I did ever know I’ve clearly now forgotten (doh))
    Lynn :D

  5. Pingback: The Lies of Locke Lamora Part I « Darkcargo

  6. This must be really neat to listen to! I like the idea of using different voices for different ages… I don’t listen to many audio books, but it’s something that would never have crossed my mind and seems like a really great way of doing it!

  7. I also think the “Chains” is linked to the fact that he chains himself to the church… but well, I could be wrong I guess. I wonder how it is to listen to the story instead of reading it, I think I’d like to try someday!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

